Our Governance

The MMF governance structure is:

  1. The Executive Team run the society on behalf of the members.
  2. The MMF Committee provides oversight and guidance.
  3. A distinguished pool of senior members provide support and guidance in their role as Honorary Presidents and Vice-Presidents.


The MMF started in 1969 and has been running ever since.

You can read a bit more about the history of the MMF here.


Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the MMF research group currently is:


Paul Mizen

MMF President

University of Nottingham


Richard Barwell

Engagement Officer

BNP Paribas


Laura Coroneo


University of York


Michael McMahon

Impact Officer

University of Oxford


Amit Kara



Honorary President:

Charles Goodhart: CBE FBA

Honorary Vice-Presidents:

Philip Arestis: University of Cambridge

Wendy Carlin: University College London

Alec Chrystal: CASS Business School

Diane Coyle: University of Cambridge

Panicos Demetriades: University of Leicester

John Driffill – NUS Yale

Marcus Miller: University of Warwick

Peter Sinclair: University of Birmingham

Peter N Smith: University of York

Mike Wickens: University of York

The Overall Committee is:

Gianluca Benigno (LSE)

Jagjit S. Chadha – National Institute of Economics and Social Research

George Chortareas: Kings College London

David Cobham: Heriot-Watt University

Laura Coroneo (York)

Sean Holly: University of Cambridge

Amit Kara (NIESR)

Miguel Leon-Ledesma: University of Kent

Kevin Lee: University of Nottingham

Paul Levine: University of Surrey

James Mitchell, Warwick Business School

Charles Nolan: University of Glasgow

Gulcin Ozkan: University of York

Joe Pearlman: City University

Simon Price: University of Essex

Ricardo Reis (LSE)

Lucio Sarno: Cass Business School

Kevin Sheedy: LSE

Policy Advisory Group:

Nikki Anderson: Bank of England

Stephen Millard: Bank of England

Shamik Dhar: Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Andrew Gurney: HM Treasury.

Overseas Engagement and Special Lectures:

Jane Binner: University of Birmingham, Max Fry Lecture

Renee McKibben, CAMA, Ex Officio (Australia)

Jean-Bernard Chatelain: University Paris 1 Pantheon Sorbonne, GDRE Ex Officio (France)

Liam Gallagher: Dublin City University, Irish Academy of Finance Ex Officio (Ireland)

Bernd Hayo: University of Marburg, Ex Officio (Germany)

Andrew Mullineux: University of Birmingham

Conference Sub-Committee

George Bratsiotis: University of Manchester, Manchester School Editor, Ex Officio

Les Reinhorn: University of Durham 2014

Kent Matthews: Cardiff Business School 2015

Vito Polito, University of Bath 2016