9th Annual MMF PhD Conference

21-23 April 2022
Edinburgh Business School and Panmure House
Heriot-Watt University

Sponsored by the Money, Macro and Finance Society, the Bank of England, and Heriot-Watt University

In-person conference

Panmure House picture

Conference Description

The main objective of the workshop was to provide advanced PhD economists, about to go on the job market, with an opportunity to present their research to their peers and leading researchers in the field in order to obtain feedback and practice the presentation of their key research ideas.

An added bonus was that it allows for some early dissemination of these ideas across the research and policy-making community. As well as senior academics, the conference was attended by economists from the Bank of England and NIESR.

Programme Committee

Arnab Bhattacharjee (Heriot-Watt University)
Cristiano Cantore (Bank of England)
David Cobham (Heriot-Watt University)
Stephen Millard (NIESR)
Gulcin Ozkan (King’s College London)

Prize Winners

Julian Ashwin (Oxford), “The shifting focus of central bankers”: 1st Prize (£250)

Lee Tyrell-Hendry (Edinburgh), “EM forever blowing bubbles : Global imbalances and the limits of fiscal policy”: 2nd Prize (£150)

Jantke de Boer (Dresden/Cambridge), “Foreign Portfolio investment network and currency risk premia”: 3rd Prize (£100)